<< Back

Cruel Love and Sweet Death

Crudo Amor & Dolce Morte

[ 7 musicians: 3 voices + continuo ]

Domenico Tintoretto (1560-1635): Tancred baptizing Clorinda (ca. 1585)
© Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

«Concertato» Madrigals after Monteverdi's lesson

In 1619 Claudio Monteverdi sends to print his Seventh Book of Madrigals, whose title - «Concerto» - is an example of the compositional trend that developed between the 16th and 17th centuries, that is the birth of Basso Continuo. New expressive expedients, in addition to the use of concerted instruments, are explored in every possible form by Monteverdi and other valid composers all over the peninsula, finding however tenacious resistance in Rome, still too tied to Palestrina's polyphonic lesson to fully absorb the new stylistic wave. Following the path marked by Monteverdi, this anthological program proposes madrigals for one, two and three voices by authors from various backgrounds but all active between the 1620s and 1640s. The aim is, in particular, to underline the oxymoronic relationship of Love and Death: cruel, painful, aching the former - sweet, liberating, releasing the latter.
Music by Claudio Monteverdi, Alessandro Grandi, Giovanni Rovetta, Giovanni Antonio Rigatti, Giovanni Maria Costa, Pietro Andrea Ziani, Barbara Strozzi, Biagio Marini, Giovanni Ceresini.

<< Back